

SELECTION OF BILLS COMMITTEE

REPORT NO. 35 – 24 JUNE 2025

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

The Hon Bob Nanva MLC, *Chair* The Hon Chris Rath MLC, *Deputy Chair* The Hon Mark Banasiak MLC Mr Jeremy Buckingham MLC The Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC The Hon Wes Fang MLC Ms Sue Higginson MLC Ms Sue Higginson MLC The Hon Emma Hurst MLC The Hon Mark Latham MLC The Hon Mark Latham MLC The Hon Taylor Martin MLC The Hon Tania Mihailuk MLC The Hon Cameron Murphy MLC The Hon Rod Roberts MLC The Hon John Ruddick MLC

Secretariat to the committee:

Ms Sharon Ohnesorge, Clerk Assistant—Procedure (02 9230 3389)

Mx Robin Howlett, A/Senior Council Officer—Procedure (02 9230 2331)

SELECTION OF BILLS COMMITTEE

The Selection of Bills Committee met on Tuesday 24 June 2025 to consider whether the following bills be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report:

- Community Housing Providers (Adoption of National Law) Amendment Bill 2025,
- Constitution Amendment (Right to Possess and Carry Firearms) Bill 2025,
- District Court Legislation Amendment Bill 2025,
- Government Sector Audit Amendment (Performance Audit Reports) Bill 2025,
- Local Government Amendment (Elections) Bill 2025,
- Suicide Prevention Bill 2025, and
- Water Management Amendment (Intergovernmental Agreements) Bill 2025.

The committee makes the following recommendation: That the following bills not be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report this day:

- (a) Community Housing Providers (Adoption of National Law) Amendment Bill 2025,
- (b) Constitution Amendment (Right to Possess and Carry Firearms) Bill 2025,
- (c) District Court Legislation Amendment Bill 2025,
- (d) Government Sector Audit Amendment (Performance Audit Reports) Bill 2025,
- (e) Local Government Amendment (Elections) Bill 2025,
- (f) Suicide Prevention Bill 2025, and
- (g) Water Management Amendment (Intergovernmental Agreements) Bill 2025.

Bob Nanva MLC **Chair** 24 June 2025